A journalist at the Telegraph follows up the Masterfood/Mars feck up with an article about all the confectionery, soft drinks and other items that are not suitable for vegetarians. In keeping with what must be a policy there, they have a long headline for the article »
Vegetarians angered as more foodstuffs prove to contain animal ingredients
By Harry Wallop, Consumer Affairs Correspondent
Last Updated: 1:45am BST 15/05/2007
The food industry has been criticised after it emerged that some of the best known soft drinks, confectionery and dairy products contain animal products.
Fanta Orange, Lilt, St Ivel Advance milk, Walkers cheddar cheese crisps, Kellogs Frosted Wheats breakfast cereals, MÃ¼ller light yoghurts, Smarties, Fox’s party ring biscuits and Guinness are all on a list, compiled by the Vegetarian Society.
Chris Olivant, a spokesman for the society, said: “If people decide to go vegetarian they obviously know to cut out red meat, but they are not going to think about crisps, sweets and drinks.
It would be much easier if these manufacturers put it on the label.”
Some companies, such as Unilever, have adopted a “not suitable for vegetarians” logo for some of their ambiguous products.
Others, such as Mars, Cadbury and NestlÃ© have chosen not to say that their products are unsuitable for those who do not eat animal produce.
Tony Bilsborough, of Cadbury, said that the gelatin used in liquorice allsorts and other sweets was necessary for “product quality”.
A spokesman for NestlÃ© said there was no legal requirement to label products “not suitable for vegetarians”. However, all ingredients were clearly listed on all products.
Mars was at the centre of a controversy at the weekend after it admitted that it had changed the ingredients used in its chocolate bars; it now uses whey derived from animal rennet.
Mr Olivant said the Vegetarian Society had been “swamped” with calls about the ingredient change. He said: “It’s fair to say people are very miffed with Mars.”
You can say that again !
Also on the article is a list, provided by the Vegetarian Society, of products with animal ingredients:
– Worcestershire Sauce – Lea & Perrins contains anchovies.
– Liquorice Allsorts Bassetts contain gelatine.
– MÃ¼ller Light Yoghurts contain gelatine and fish oils.
– Fruit Pastilles Rowntrees contain gelatine
– Jelly Babies Bassett’s contain gelatine.
– St Ivel Advance (milk) contains fish oil.
– Flora Omega 3 plus margarine contains fish oil.
– Kellogg’s Frosted Wheats (breakfast cereal) contains beef gelatine.
– Orange Fanta drink Contains gelatine.
– Walkers Cheddar Cheese crisps made using non-vegetarian cheese powder.
– Trident Sugar Free Gum contains gelatine, unlike 99 per cent of other chewing gums on the market
Beef geletine in cereal ?! Good grief.